My Walkman iPhone Case

My Sony Walkman style iPhone Case

**UPDATED** I have a hard time making decisions at the best of times, so when it came to ordering one of my quirky iPhone cases for myself, it took me a while to figure out exactly which one to choose! Of course, given that I’ll be showing it off to as many people as I can, and wanted to take some promotional photographs of it, the pressure was on, but I think I made the right decision.

My ‘Sony Walkman’ iPhone Case says a lot about what I’m trying to achieve with my designs – they’re meant to be quirky, individual and above all, make you smile. Each design is treated as a miniature piece of artwork in its’ own right, and is meticulously crafted from scratch. The design process starts with the preparation of all required elements in Adobe Illustrator, with final compositing and finishing taking place in Photoshop, which allows me to create high-resolution artwork in my signature highly detailed and photo-realistic illustrative style.

Somewhere along the way, I try to inject a little bit of fun into the design – whether it be with the concept itself, or in its’ execution. Here I couldn’t resist replacing the Sony and Walkman logos, partly because it appealed to my sense of humour, and partly to avoid copyright issues with the logo police when it came to production.

Hopefully I got this one right – personally, I’m really happy with the design and it does, genuinely, make me smile. Now that it’s arrived and I’ve been able to evaluate uncommon’s patented printing technology for myself, I can also say that I’m very happy with how the case looks and feels in the flesh. The print quality exceeded my expectations, and the Deflector case is a good fit for my iPhone 4. It’s slimmer than I had anticipated too, with my phone now feeling noticably smaller than it did in my previous gear4 silicone-bumpered case.

Of course, you don’t need to take my word for it – you could always buy your own! Have a look at my collection of designs, and if there’s not one there that makes you smile, let me know. I might just be able to do something about that!

UPDATE 14 May 2012 – Since ordering one of these cases for myself, I’ve created another Walkman-inspired design, the Phony Talkman Sports!

Click the image above to see purchasing options for both of these Walkman designs on redbubble, where they are available in Uncommon Deflector and Capsule form for iPhone and iPod Touch.

3 thoughts on “My Walkman iPhone Case”

Leave a Reply

